Comment Policy

ATTENTION!

If you want your comment published on this blog, you must follow these three simple rules!

I’ve said it before, but it didn’t get heard. I’ve reminded folks of it at the top of posts, and it gets ignored. I repeat it over and over, and people just gloss right over it and go about their merry way, expecting that I just won’t give a damn that they’re violating my rules for comment publication, because their words are just so damn important that they should be able to throw them wherever the fuck they want them to be, and filled with any ol’ privileged BS they want.

This is ridiculous. You are adults. You are capable of following directions, if you actually cared to. Yes, I’m talking to you, MRAs. If you actually want to discuss or debate issues, here are the rules you need to follow:

1. Do not post “majority’s rights” or “anti-minority-activism” comments on any new blog posts. This means no MRA propaganda, and no “what about the men/straighties/able-bodied people/etc.” diatribes. The comment sections of all entries posted after February 2012 (save the one I shall link momentarily) are being kept as safe spaces for minority discourse. It’s not fair that minorities have to encounter bigotry everywhere, so I’m giving them one less place to worry about. This is not “silencing” majority voices; I do not have the social power to silence a majority. You do not have a constitutional right to comment on my blog, and I may filter comments however I deem appropriate. And regardless, I have an entry specifically set aside for such comments, and you are perfectly free to comment there instead. See? Not ignored, redirected. Just C&P a link to the entry you’re replying to at the top of your comment, and I’ll respond to it as such. However, comments there must still adhere to rules 2 & 3.

2. Do not use minority slurs in your comments. No ableist, racist, homophobic, misogynistic, transphobic, etc. words, period. You use a bigoted slur, and your entire comment automatically goes to spam. Not sure if a word you’re using is a slur? Just don’t use it. It’s not that hard.

3. Do not leave threatening or violent comments. If you can’t come up with anything better than abusive, violent rhetoric, you don’t deserve a response. Comments of this nature will land you right on my permanent block list.

This stuff isn’t hard, and even if it was—so what? If you can’t show minorities the respect of keeping our safe spaces clean, you don’t deserve to have your words heard.

About bunnika

shout at the brick wall; if it doesn't hear you, shout louder
This entry was posted in blogly business. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Comment Policy

  1. A.M. says:

    I’m sorry that this is necessary, but I for one applaud how you’re handling it. You’re obviously on several MRA shitlists, and you handle dissent with such patience and class, but I’ll admit that I read way more than I ever comment on because I often don’t feel comfortable or safe with the level of vitriol (and constant derailment) so often found in the comments. *Especially* because people who refuse to disagree respectfully or compassionately so often disregard things like trigger warnings or engage in passive-aggressive (or even active-aggressive) dancing around slurs while their whole comment smacks of the intent even if certain words don’t make it through. Disagreement is one thing; hate and nonstop badgering is another. And if that’s hard and often incredibly triggering for an observer, I can’t even imagine how you’re able to deal with it like you do.

    Anyway, tl;dr version: Yay for safe spaces! And I will enjoy reading dissenting opinions and (hopefully grown up and compassionate) debates when I feel strong enough to peek in on that post without fear of unhealthy triggering/spiraling on my end.

    • bunnika says:

      Thank you so much for this; comments like this are why I’m able to keep going. I know what it’s like to want to comment, but just not be able to handle the bullying that’s likely to occur around MRAs and the like. I always wait until I’m in a safe mindset before posting an entry, because I need to know I can handle any immediate responses. It’s harder when I simply get a comment out of the blue on an older entry, because sometimes I’m just not having a good day, and I’m not in the right frame of mind to respond. Usually I just hold it in moderation until I’m ready to reply, though I admit that sometimes I reply when my patience is thin, and I tend to get snarky. This is also what I do if I simply don’t have the time to compose a proper response, because I don’t want hateful or privileged rhetoric being out there without a proper rebuttal (which is how I try to make even those open-comment posts a little bit safer for minorities).

      Honestly, one of the things that bothers me about people ignoring my comments policy (like commenting with anti-feminist stuff on this entry, when it says at the very start not to) is that they force me to not address their points. Sometimes commenters bring up things that I think are important talking points, but I can’t reply to them because they’re violating the “safe space” rule. I’m considering re-posting on their behalf in the catch-all comments post, so I can at least address their objections, even if they’ll never be notified of it, or even see it. I’ve yet to receive a comment I can’t rebut, but I’ve been forced to not publish them because of this stuff, and that’s a not a win for either side.

  2. I’ve read your post about reverse ‘discrimination.’ it was well thought out, well-written, and your replies are respectful. I, too, am a feminist with a disability. I am anxious to read more. Your voice gives others strength.

  3. Matthew Chiglinsky says:

    It’s a lie and a misrepresentation of the truth to filter comments. It would be better if you simply disabled comments.

Leave a Reply

